Proteas’ T20 World Cup squad unveiled however, concern was raised about the racial makeup of the team

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has unveiled the Proteas squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which is set to take place in June in the Caribbean Islands and the United States (USA). 

The team was announced by limited-overs head coach Rob Walter and Enoch Nkwe, the director of cricket at CSA. Concerns have been raised about the racial makeup of the team with only one black player, Kagiso Rabada has been selected to be part of the team. 

CSA CEO Pholetsi Moseki has acknowledged the racial makeup of the team and the shortcomings of domestic cricket for not producing enough black cricketers. 

“If there aren’t enough black players raising their hands at domestic level, there won’t be enough to get through to the national team,” he told News24.

“It’s a concern that we’re taking a team to the World Cup with only one black African player and in conjunction with the director of cricket [Enoch Nkwe], there were cricket reasons.

“The Proteas’ transformation targets aren’t based on the numbers they send to tournaments, but the numbers are based on how they average over a season.”

“To be clear, the transformation target is just that; a target. CSA is under no compulsion to meet the goal if they feel it is not ideal,” an opinion piece read. “CSA didn’t meet their transformation targets last year, and nothing happened.”

The Proteas team will be led by Aiden Markram. Themba Bavuma, the former captain unfortunately couldn’t make it for the final cut. 

Aiden Markram (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions) Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans) and Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors).

Travelling Reserves

Nandre Burger (World Sports Betting Western Province) and Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans)

Please follow and like us:
Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial