Clubhouse rolls out new Security feature ‘Protected Profile’

The audio chat platform, Clubhouse has launched a protected profile feature that allows users to only make their full profile available to people they approve as followers. 

According to the company, the changes are being implemented in response to Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine in an effort to keep users protected on the platform.  

In a blog post about the announcement, the company said, “We’re grateful we’ve become a meeting place for people around the world to connect during this time, but we also know that times of conflict and upheaval make it increasingly important to be mindful of your presence online and what you share.” 

The clubhouse also provided tips on how users can protect themselves on social audio platforms during times of conflict. 

  • Be cautious of what you put on your profile – your photo, name, bio, and links to social handles can give away information about you and you should be cautious about what information, and how much, you want to share in your profile during this time.
  • Be careful of what you say – in casual conversations or long conversations we sometimes let our guard down and make comments about the coffee shop we’re next to, the city we’re in, our brother’s name, our birthday and more. Remember that voluntarily disclosing information about your location, surroundings, and personal life may increase the odds of others determining where or who you are.
  • Be mindful of who you connect with – Clubhouse is a dynamic place—it can be tremendously exciting to meet new people and find new rooms and clubs as you move around your hallway. Making new friends and building new communities are two of the many benefits of the app. During this time, however, take a moment to weigh whether to accept a request to connect from a user you may not know or join a club.
  • Audio can be recorded – we have turned our Replay feature off by default for all users in Ukraine (the feature was already off by default for Russia). If you want to use this feature, don’t forget that the conversation will then live on for others to listen to. Even with Replays off, it is important to remember that we cannot control the actions of users on the platform, who may seek to use third-party apps or devices to record, store, or share content or communication without other users’ prior consent.
  • Your voice is uniquely yours – voices are powerful tools for social change and raising awareness and they are very distinctive! While taking steps to be mindful of what you’re saying and what you have posted on your profile, don’t forget that your voice is uniquely yours and can be an identifier.

The company is also urging users to be cautious about the information they are sharing both verbally and through their profiles.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial