President Cyril Ramaphosa’s Cabinet Reshuffle: Who’s In and Who’s out?

President Cyril Ramaphosa on Thursday evening announced a Cabinet reshuffle after much pressure to reassess his executive members after a number of scandals and corruption cases.

Ramaphosa confirmed that Health Minister Zweli Mkhize resigned from his position. Mkhize and his son, Dedane, were on a list along with 18 others who received payments from the company contracted for COVID-19 communications. Some of the documents submitted by the Special Investigating Unit directly implicated the embattled politician.

“I am grateful to Minister Mkhize for his service, and particularly for the outstanding leadership he has provided in the face of the worst pandemic in over a century.”

Ramaphosa said Finance Minister Tito Mboweni was another Cabinet member who requested to leave his position.

“I have also accepted a long-standing request by Minister Tito Mboweni to be excused from his position as Minister of Finance. Minister Mboweni took up this position following the sudden departure of former Minister Nhlanhla Nene in October 2018.”

The new ministers are:

  • Minister in the Presidency – Mondli Gungubele
  • Minister of Communications and Digital Technology – Khumbudzo Ntshavehni
  • Minister of Defence – Thandi Modise
  • Minister of Finance – Enoch Godongwana
  • Minister of Health – Joe Phaahla
  • Minister of Human Settlements – Mmamoloko Kubayi
  • Minister of Public Service and Administration – Ayanda Dlodlo
  • Minister of Small Business – Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
  • Minister of Tourism – Lindiwe Sisiulu
  • Minister of Water and Sanitation – Senzo Mchunu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.